DAA group

2018 Deadline: June 15, 2018

Award Criteria

The UNCG School of Nursing Distinguished Alumni Award shall be presented to an alumnus/a who has made significant contributions to the nursing profession. Distinctive service shall have been rendered on the international, national, state, and/or local levels in the field of nursing in the areas of practice, education, and/or research.


Nominees must be alumni (undergraduate or graduate) of the UNCG School of Nursing. Current members of the School of Nursing Alumni Association Board of Directors and the Awards Committee shall be excluded from consideration. Nominations are held in consideration for five (5) consecutive years.


Nomination Check List

  • Completed nomination form (required)
  • Nominee’s current curriculum vitae or resume (required)
  • Additional supporting documents such as newspaper or newsletter articles, websites, etc. (optional)
  • Two letters of support for this nomination (two letters are required; additional letters are optional). The letters may be from anyone who can strongly support the nomination such as employers, clients, other alumni, etc.

Submit the completed form with the following required and suggested materials (see list below) to:

For all questions, please contact:

UNCG School of Nursing
Office of the Dean
Post Office Box 26170
Greensboro, NC 27402-6170
Fax: 336-336-334-5319

Congratulations to Our Past Award Recipients!

YearPast RecipientsDegree
2017Laurie Lovejoy McNichol

MSN 1993, CERT 1996

2016Sheila Bryson-Eckroade

BSN ’78, MED ’85

2015Lynne K. Erdman

BSN ’77

2014Dr. Deborah L. Green

Certificate ’01

2013Elaine S. Scott

BSN ’77, MSN ’91

2012Dr. Daria Kring

BSN ’88, MSN ’95, PHD ’08

2011Ret. COL Michael A. Calder

BA ’75 Biology, BSN ’77

2010Eva M. Gomez

MSN ’03

2009Dr. Elizabeth Woodard

BSN ’81

2008Lelia Summers Moore

BSN ’71

2007Cindy Jarrett Pulliam

BSN ’81, MSN ’84

2006Dr. Stephanie G. Metzger

BSN ’84

2005Jean Burgess Sellers

BSN ’98, MSN 2002

2004Ret. COL Kathleen Lynch Simpson

BSN ‘75

2003Ernest J. Grant

MSN ‘93

2002Lois L. VonCannon

MSN ’85, Certificate ‘99

2001Johanna P. Winchester

BSN ’80, MSN ‘90

2000Martha Dees Barham

MSN ‘89

1999Dr. Sue A. Beeson

BSN ’73, MSN ‘77

1998Dr. Rita Hundley Pickler

BSN ’79, MSN ‘81

1997Barbara Osguthorpe

BSN ‘83

1996Phyllis Harrison Horton

MSN ‘89

1995Dr. Laura Hampton Coker

BSN ’85, MSN ’90, PhD HDFS ‘98

1994Dr. Linda Bray Rimer

BSN ‘71

1993Lavonne Fisher

BSN ’70, MSN ‘82

1992Dr. Mary Hawthorne

BSN ’71